Madeleine Cocolas

Madeleine Cocolas will be presenting a score for these City Symphony films filled with pulsating synthesisers, lush soundscapes, experimental electronics and field recordings.

Madeleine is an Australian composer and producer who creates predominantly post classical and ambient instrumental music. Her work moves between lush soundscapes to experimental electronics, field recordings and solo piano.

Madeleine has released solo music through various international labels including Room40/Someone Good (Australia), Bigo & Twigetti (UK), Superpang (Italy), Self Center Records (US), 1631 Recordings (UK) and Futuresequence (UK), and her music has been broadcast and streamed internationally.

Her latest album !Spectral”, released on Room40, garnered positive reviews from outlets including Pitchfork, The Wire, Electronic Sound Magazine as well as being featured as Bandcamp"s Album of the Day.



Production Credits

Daybreak Express

  • Director: D A Pennebaker
  • Cinematographer: D A Pennebaker
  • Editor: D A Pennebaker
  • Print Source/Rights: Pennebaker Hegedus Films
  • Shooting Format: 35mm
  • Screening Format: DCP
  • Year: 1953
  • Runtime: 5 minutes
  • Country: United States
  • Language: English
  • Sound: Mono
  • Colour: Colour

A Skewed Conversation

  • Directors: Eman Hussein, Ahmed Hamed
  • Choreographer & Performer: Eman Hussein
  • Cinematographer: Ahmed Hamed
  • Editor: Ahmed Hamed
  • Print Source/Rights: Ahmed Hamed
  • Shooting Format: Digital
  • Screening Format: Digital
  • Year: 2019
  • Runtime: 15 minutes
  • Country: Egypt
  • Language: Arabic
  • Subtitles: English
  • Sound: Stereo
  • Colour: Colour

Visions of a City

  • Director: Larry Jordan
  • Cinematographer: Larry Jordan
  • Editor: Larry Jordan
  • Print Source/Rights: Light Cone
  • Shooting Format: 16mm
  • Screening Format: 16mm
  • Year: 1978
  • Runtime: 7 minutes
  • Country: United States
  • Language: English
  • Sound: Mono
  • Colour: Colour

A propos de Nice (On the Subject of Nice)

  • Director: Jean Vigo
  • Script: Jean Vigo, Boris Kaufman
  • Cinematographer: Boris Kaufman
  • Editor: Jean Vigo
  • Print Source/Rights: Gaumont International
  • Shooting Format: 35mm
  • Screening Format: DCP
  • Year: 1930
  • Runtime: 28 minutes
  • Country: France
  • Language: French
  • Subtitles: English
  • Sound: Mono
  • Colour: Black & White