QAGOMA exclusively offers two scholarship opportunities: The Melville Haysom Memorial Scholarship designed to assist young artists and the Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship assisting emerging Australian artists and art history scholars to develop their talents.

QAGOMA, in conjunction with the Brisbane Consortium for the Visual Arts (BCVA), also offers a further three BCVA Scholarships to facilitate PHD research in a range of visual arts categories.

Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship

The Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship, administered by the Gallery, is a scholarship to assist young artists and encourage the development of visual arts in Queensland. The scholarship offers $5000 to artists aged 25 years and under, towards materials and expenses for the preparation of work for a specific project.

The Scholarship, conducted under the Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship Trust, has been funded by a grant to the Queensland Art Gallery by Mrs Yvonne Haysom in memory of her husband, Melville Haysom, who died on 25 December 1967.

Melville Haysom was born in Melbourne on 17 August 1900 and studied art at the National Gallery School. In 1929 he came to Queensland, and in 1935 received the Godfrey Rivers Bequest Award. He was a member of the Victorian Art Society (President 1923–24), the Fellowship of Australian Artists, and a Life Member of the Royal Queensland Art Society (President 1952–55). His work is represented in the Queensland Art Gallery, the Darnell Collection of the University of Queensland and many private collections.


Applications for the 2016 Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship are now closed.

Past Melville Haysom Scholars

2015 : Brooke Ferguson
2014 : Clark Beaumont (Sarah Clark and Nicole Beaumont)
2013 : Ruth McConchie
2012 : Catherine or Kate
2011 : Tim Woodward
2010 : Elizabeth Willing and Louise Bennett (joint recipients)
2009 : Alice Lang

2008 : Carly Scoufos
2007 : Danny Ford
2006 : Janice Kuczkowski
2005 : Natalie Masters
2004 : Michelle Oxenham
2002 : Natalya Hughes

Brisbane Consortium for the Visual Arts Scholarship

Three new PhD Scholarships offered by the Brisbane Consortium for Visual Arts

The Brisbane Consortium for the Visual Arts (BCVA) facilitates scholarly collaboration between the art history-theory programs of Griffith University (GU), Queensland University of Technology (QUT) and the University of Queensland (UQ) working in conjunction with the Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA).

The BCVA's key areas of focus include: contemporary Asian art; art of the Asia-Pacific; Australian and Australian Indigenous art; the global contemporary; curatorial education and training; new approaches to art history and theory.

The BCVA is now offering three PhD scholarships for research in the visual arts in these key areas. Projects addressing art-historical research outside these areas will also be considered if a sufficiently strong case is made.

Successful applicants will be based at one of the three member Universities of the Consortium. Applicants should consider fields of research that correspond to the expertise and interests of BCVA members (see websites below). There is also the opportunity to link your research to the QAGOMA collection and/or exhibition program.

Applications are made to an individual university. Each scholarship provides a living allowance of approximately AUD $26,288 per annum.

Applicants must have completed, or expect to complete, a Bachelors degree with First Class Honours or equivalent and be intending to enrol full-time in an approved doctoral program. Successful applicants will begin their candidature in 2016.


Applications open 30 May 2016 and close 30 August 2016.

Full details on the scholarships, application forms and information on BCVA members can be found at the following university websites:

For further information, contact the following BCVA member for the University you are applying to:

GU: Dr Rosemary Hawker –
UQ: Associate Professor Sally Butler –
QUT: Professor Andrew McNamara –

Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship

The Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship, administered by the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) Foundation gives one emerging Australian artist or Australian art history student the extraordinary opportunity to develop their practices or research through an itinerary of national or overseas travel. It offers a generous $40,000 biennially towards travel that ensures the further development of art practice or research that will make a contribution to an understanding of Australian art.

The scholarship honours the eminent Queensland artist Frances Vida Lahey (1882-1968), whose striking watercolours and oils captured the attention and praise of Brisbane society. In addition to a highly successful artistic career, Lahey campaigned fiercely for sharing cultural knowledge in Queensland. She arranged and sometimes herself gave lunchtime lectures at the Queensland Art Gallery, campaigned for art education for children and helped to establish the significant Queensland Art Fund with sculptor Daphne Mayo, designed to promote public interest in the arts by collecting important works for the state art collection.

In 1915, Lahey travelled to London for family reasons. Her emotional and dramatic experiences in England during World War One and her exposure to the art and history of Europe over the next five years, changed her life and aesthetic practices forever. From this point onwards, Lahey would use her ongoing travel experiences to stimulate new ideas and compositions in her artwork.

The Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship is funded through the Estate of Shirley Lahey (27 April 1925 – 16 July 2011), the niece of Vida Lahey, whose specific bequest made this scholarship possible. A great admirer of Vida Lahey's artistic and social work, she honours not only the woman and her achievements but also the significance of travel in her life and art.

The Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship is coordinated by the QAGOMA Foundation. For further information contact:

Kamillea Aghtan
Acting Foundation Officer
Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art
T: +61 (0)7 3840 7262

The inaugural Vida Lahey Memorial Travelling Scholarship was awarded to art history researcher Matthew Perkins in March 2015. Matthew's project builds on almost a decade of work researching Australian video art, tracing its unwritten history and development. With scholarship funds, his review takes him to every state in Australia to consult archives, visit cultural institutions and conduct interviews with artists and curators. Read more

Applications for 2017 will open in September 2016.