Premier of Queensland's National New Media Art Award 2010

28 Aug 2010 – 7 Nov 2010
GOMA | Free

The Queensland Government and Queensland Art Gallery congratulate Isobel Knowles and Van Sowerwine, winners of the 2010 Premier of Queensland's National New Media Art Award.

The judging panel said 'The winning entry You Were In My Dream 2010 is a playful work that offers a rare combination of interactivity, narrative and nostalgia... It is wonderful to see a new media work that comments so succinctly on 21st century participatory culture by making the screen so tactile. The work of Isobel Knowles and Van Sowerwine invites the individual into a dreamlike narrative realm. This is a work that will delight audiences of all ages... The judges would also like to highly commend Wade Marynowsky, whose work The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeois Robot 2 2010 is enchanting, poetic and unnerving.'

The Premier of Queensland's National New Media Art Award is Australia's most significant prize for new media art. Seven artists and collaborations were short-listed for the biennial acquisitive award: Philip Brophy (VIC), Nigel Helyer (NSW), Chris Howlett (QLD), Isobel Knowles and Van Sowerwine (VIC), Wade Marynowsky (NSW), Soda_Jerk (NSW) and Lynette Wallworth (NSW). The 2010 selection committee was comprised of Tony Ellwood, Director, Queensland Art Gallery; Bec Dean, Associate Director, Performance Space, Sydney; and Larissa Hjorth, artist and Senior Lecturer in Digital Art and Games Programs at the School of Creative Media and Computer Science at RMIT, Melbourne.