• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • pinterest
  • Tumblr
  • Flickr
  • Youtube
  • eNews

Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship


Moonlight; second circulation at the State Savings Bank, Ruth McConchie, 2013 Melville Haysom Scholar

Designed to assist young artists

The Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship, administered by the Gallery, is a scholarship to assist young artists. Designed to promote, encourage and advance the development of visual arts in Queensland, the scholarship is offered to artists aged 25 years or under. The scholarship offers $5000 towards materials and expenses for the preparation of work for a specific project.

The Scholarship, conducted under the Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship Trust, has been funded by a grant to the Queensland Art Gallery by Mrs Yvonne Haysom in memory of her husband, Melville Haysom, who died on 25 December 1967.

Melville Haysom was born in Melbourne on 17 August 1900 and studied art at the National Gallery School. In 1929 he came to Queensland, and in 1935 received the Godfrey Rivers Bequest Award. He was a member of the Victorian Art Society (President 1923–24), the Fellowship of Australian Artists, and a Life Member of the Royal Queensland Art Society (President 1952–55). His work is represented in the Queensland Art Gallery, the Darnell Collection of the University of Queensland and many private collections.

2014 Melville Haysom Scholar Announced! 

The 2014 Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship has been awarded to Brisbane-based artist collaboration Clark Beaumont. As part of the scholarship, Clark Beaumont will produce a dynamic multi-screen video installation exploring the complex relationship between screen-based culture and identity construction in a contemporary context. Stay tuned for more details on Clark Beaumont’s project.Applications for the 2015 Melville Haysom Memorial Art Scholarship close on 31 March 2015.

Past Melville Haysom Scholars

  • 2014 : Clark Beaumont (Sarah Clark and Nicole Beaumont)
  • 2013 : Ruth McConchie
  • 2012 : Catherine or Kate
  • 2011 : Tim Woodward
  • 2010 : Elizabeth Willing and Louise Bennett (joint recipients)
  • 2009 : Alice Lang
  • 2008 : Carly Scoufos
  • 2007 : Danny Ford
  • 2006 : Janice Kuczkowski
  • 2005 : Natalie Masters
  • 2004 : Michelle Oxenham
  • 2002 : Natalya Hughes