• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • pinterest
  • Tumblr
  • Flickr
  • Youtube
  • eNews

About the New Media Scholarship



The 64-page exhibition catalogue for ‘Premier of Queensland’s New Media Art Award’ is available from the Gallery Store or can be purchased online

Premier of Queensland’s New Media Scholarship 2008

The Queensland Government and Queensland Art Gallery congratulate Leah Barclay, winner of the inaugural Premier of Queensland's National New Media Art Scholarship.

About the Premier of Queensland’s New Media Scholarship

The Premier of Queensland’s New Media Scholarship is a $25 000 biennial scholarship for an emerging Queensland-based artist. The purpose of the scholarship is to assist the development of the recipient’s arts practice through further study, travel or a related program of professional development.

The Gallery defines an 'emerging Queensland-based artist' as an artist (regardless of age) who:

  • has had no more than five years' professional experience
  • resides in Queensland
  • produces and exhibits work primarily in Queensland.
The Gallery employs a broad definition of ‘new media’ that encompasses artists whose practice engages with, and is enlivened by, media technologies. This definition of ‘new media’ includes artists working predominantly within the field of new media technologies as well as artists who employ new technologies as an adjunct to a practice in traditional media.

Frequently asked questions

Scholarship guidelines

Applicants for the Premier of Queensland’s New Media Scholarship are required to complete an expression of interest (EOI) application outlining a proposed program of professional development to be undertaken within the period 1 January 2009 – 31 December 2011.

The EOI application will include a 200-word statement, supporting documentation, project budget and itinerary.

The scholarship recipient will be required to submit an acquittal report on the outcomes of the program, in relation to the objectives, budget and itinerary outlined in their application, within six months of the completion of the professional development.

Application process

Applications for 2008 are now closed.

Scholarship judging and announcement

From the submissions received Gallery curatorial staff will compile a short-list of finalists for the selection panel’s consideration. The selection panel will review the finalists’ work and select the most meritorious emerging Queensland-based new media artist and application for the scholarship.

The 2008 selection committee comprises Tony Ellwood, Director, Queensland Art Gallery; Melinda Rackham, Director, Australian Network for Art and Technology; and Liz Hughes, Executive Director, Experimenta Media Arts. The Hon. Anna Bligh, Premier of Queensland, will announce the award and scholarship recipient on 31 October 2008.