• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • pinterest
  • Tumblr
  • Flickr
  • Youtube
  • eNews

Judging Panel

Peter Alwast, Everything 2008 (3)Peter Alwast, Everything 2008 (3)

Peter Alwast
Everything (video still) 2008
Image courtesy: The artist and Gallery Barry Keldoulis, Sydney

David Haines and Joyce Hinterding, Earthstar 2008 (2)

David Haines and Joyce Hinterding
Earthstar (video still) 2008
Image courtesy: The artists and Breenspace, Sydney

Statement from the Judging Panel

The judges are pleased to announce Peter Alwast as the winner of the 2008 Premier of Queensland’s National New Media Art Award.

 Peter Alwast’s Everything 2008 is an immersive three-channel video installation in which the artist has created a surreal, digital composed world. The work explores shifts in perception, and interweaves elements of painting, drawing, video, 3-D modelling and digital animation with a fresh approach.

 The judges applaud the initiative of the Premier of Queensland in establishing this much needed acknowledgment of the depth and maturity of new media art in Australia. This landmark exhibition demonstrates the strength and diversity of Australian new media art.  Each of the exhibiting artists combines strong aesthetic qualities with conceptual rigor, breaking new ground in their use of technology and media in contemporary art practice.

 The judges would also like to highly commend the visionary portrait of the sun by David Haines and Joyce Hinterding. Earthstar 2008 allows the audience to hear, smell and experience the sun, in a completely unique way.

The judges are also pleased to announce Leah Barclay as the recipient of the Premier of Queensland’s New Media Scholarship. Barclay is a graduate of the Queensland Conservatorium of Music and her new media sound practice draws on environmental and political themes. Barclay will undertake a program of further study and professional development in South America and Canada.

The 2008 selection committee comprises Tony Ellwood, Director, Queensland Art Gallery; Melinda Rackham, Director, Australian Network for Art and Technology; and Liz Hughes, Executive Director, Experimenta Media Arts. The Hon. Anna Bligh, Premier of Queensland, announced the award and scholarship recipient on 31 October 2008.